What's Been Happening!

R. Carlos Nakai, a world renowned Native American flutist, invited Kumu Sabra Kauka to join his quartet on stage at KCC Performing Arts Center on Saturday, October 19. 
Kumu asked the Island School halau to join her for the opening chant. Kalia Hamid, Rayna and Moriah Shafter and Kali Ilnicki participated. Rayna added a brief but beautiful jazz scat solo to the opening number. 
Nakai and percussionist Will Clipman are to the left of the halau. Other members of the quartet Amochip Dabney and Johnny Walker were also present. 
Nakai is on an intercultural journey to meld the essences of culture, traditions and innovation. Blending Hawaiian chant with Native American flute in a jazz style was a first for Kumu and the halau.


Our students had the privilege of attending the annual ʻAʻo Blessing. Community members, including Councilman Luke Evslin and Councilman Mason Chock, and others from various
organizations joined together to celebrate Kauaʻi’s endangered
seabirds. We appreciate your continued support and care for our unique
native wildlife.

Another October, another successful Harvest Fest! Fun was had by all and funds raised for our classes! Mahalo to everyone who helped make this enjoyable event happen!


The Kauai Island Utility Cooperative has announced the winners of their 16th annual Calendar of Student Art contest. Island School is honored to have this year's grand prize winner, as well as two "month" winners, given for each grade level, and three honorable mentions. A big congratulations to these six Island School students. They will be attending an awards ceremony December 9th.
Grand Prize winner: Aiden Winsley
February winner: Elise Lawhon
September winner: Reyn Wells
Honorable Mention awards:
Olivia Baker
Rayna Shafter
Elijah Ibbs


The Isle Hoops Basketball Boys had an amazing opportunity, 7 Island School players were invited to attend the LA Clippers Basketball Camp on Oahu on October 5th.
Coach Greg Meyer attended the coaches camp and the players did a great job and represented Island School with pride!  
7th Grade
Aiden Alvarez 
Lucas Summerhays 
Ryan Biedermann 
Tanner Leikam
Luke Carter
Christoper Jobe 
8th Grade 
Dylan Watanabe