Our Community

Board of Directors

Island School's Board of Directors

The Island School Board of Directors, composed of 20 members, meets six times a year. While the major responsibility of the Board is to set policy, membership at Island School includes more than that. The Board is made up of individuals who are committed to the school and its programs, who actively promote the benefits of Island School within the community, who participate in fundraising and work diligently to support the school in a number of ways. Every Board member is involved in at least one Board sub-committee, including Academic Affairs, Admissions/Marketing, Buildings and Grounds, Development, Executive, Finance, Personnel, and Technology. The Board of Directors evaluates the Head of School annually.


Katherine G. Richardson, President
David W. Pratt, Vice President & Chair, Development
Retired Executive
Laura Cushnie, Vice President and Chair, Academic Affairs
President of Cushnie Construction Company, Inc.
Samuel W. Pratt, Treasurer & Chair, Finance
President, Niu Pia Land Company, Ltd
Charles G. King, Ass’t. Treasurer
Managing General Partner of Kaonoulu Ranch
Sonia Topenio, Secretary
Christine Ing, Ass't. Secretary and Chair, Marketing 
Business Manager, Kauai Dental Care

Colby Ayonon
President, Kauai Air Conditioning & Refrigeration, Inc.
Debra Blachowiak
Broker in Charge, Lihue Office
Oceanfront Sotheby’s International Realty

James Guerber
Owner, Signature Systems, Inc.
Jed Gushman
CEO, Wailani Properties
Cynthia Hannah-White
Attorney/Owner, Kauai Estate Law, LLC
Alan King
Managing Partner, RAH LLC
Wade Lord, Chair, Buildings & Grounds
President, W. Lord & Company
Janet Mayfield
Chief Executive Officer,
National Tropical Botanical Gardens
Teri Peers
Owner, TPeers Consulting LLC.
Laura Ryan
Owner, Bottomline Business Solutions
Will Summerhays
Executive Vice President
Layton Construction Company LLC 
Marc Ventura
President, Marc Ventura AIA, LLC, Architect
Directors Emeritus
Lindsay Kamm
Founder and Past President, Board of Directors
David W. Proudfoot
Past Board Member

Nancy Nagramada, 
Head of School